Bye Bye, Debbie Downer

Hello all,

I’m not in much of a bloggity mood right now, but since the last post was so plaintive, I thought I’d put y’alls mind at ease and let you know that my mood has lifted tremendously. Yesterday was my birthday, and I was reminded of how much I love, love, love my family and friends. My parents started off my day by sending me a cute email with all these baby photos of me. (They already sent me my gift — an electric skillet — earlier in the week. Maybe I’ll start cooking now?) My co workers gave me lots of birthday wishes and my assistant got me a way-too-generous gift card. My friends, the Sisters (one of whom I went to college with, two of whom I lived with for 3 1/2 years after college, and their younger sister who recently moved to L.A., who call me an “honorary sister”), sent me gorgeous flowers at work with a note saying “We love you, from your sisters.” Then the Sisters and my law school girls & their men all came out for dinner and showered me with lots of love. All evening, as we laughed a lot and I looked around at everybody, I thought, Wow, here I am moping around about my life and I am surrounded by so many people who care about me. So maybe I don’t have a boyfriend at the moment….so what. I realized that instead if sitting around feeling sorry for myself because some guy or another doesn’t act the way I want him to (ahem, C.), I really need to focus on all the people who are in my life, ready to spend time with me and be there for me. And I’ve got a lot of them!

So thanks to all of you…you know who you are.

Have a great weekend, more later!

Leave a Reply

