Inspiration

**Yes, I know I promised this post would be about the result of my mom’s matchmaking attempt.  But I wanted to write about something else, so this is a slight detour.**

Every so often, I will be plugging along in my everyday life when something inspires me and I have to take a step back and think about it.  Tonight that inspiration came in the form of V., a woman who just joined the committee of the domestic violence awareness/prevention nonprofit that I’m involved with.  V. is probably in her 20’s like me, and she has a full-time job doing something in finance.  She explained to us that her “other” job is working for a different domestic violence organization, answering the hotline on Saturday nights and sometimes during the week acting as a moral support companion to domestic violence victims testifying in court.  She also organizes several performances of the Vagina Monologues every year.  And now here she is, giving more of herself by joining our committee.  As you might imagine, she is very energetic and competent.

Wow.  I, for one, am inspired. Here’s someone who’s a real doer.  It takes a certain personality type to be so passionate about a cause that you will devote so much of your time to it.  And she, and the other people I know who are like this, do all that they do in such an uncomplaining and vibrant way.  I find myself so often getting overwhelmed in my own life and my own schedule, but in reality I could be more efficient with my time.  I could be doing much more.

If you were to devote yourself to a cause, dear readers, what would it be?

8 Responses

  1. Hmmm…..for me it would be something with children. Probably something related to education/literacy.

  2. I’d probably administer a school for teenagers in rehab, and teach them algebra. Wait, I already do that.

    If I wanted to devote myself to another cause, I’d probably do something else involving teaching to disadvantaged youth, probably music or science. Maybe if young people, particularly girls, could have more options when they were teenagers, they wouldn’t get involved (as much) in sketchy situations and abusive relationships.

    My highest regards to you and your friend for being involved in such a vital issue.

  3. I have no idea. Probably something with the environment (I know, shocking). Now I just have to figure out how people like that get the time and energy!

  4. I’m a school counselor for middle school (5th-8th grade) and LOVE it…when I was in college, I volunteered 3.5 years at a crisis hotline…

    Thanks for sharing this with us though…now that I think about it, I miss doing that kind of thing. If I had to choose, I’d probably get back in the crisis hotline field….it’s just so rewarding to know that you are of use to someone..ya know?

  5. Sidenote:

    To SF and SF’s lawyer fans: I think I just found the best. lawyer. humor. site. ever.

    http://www.bitterlawyer.com/index.php

    Watch the webisodes, and be sure to start with episode 1 from season 1. Enjoy 🙂

    Sidenote from sidenote: I would start a support group for recovering attorneys. We would reclaim our lives and souls (and feelings, ahem, SF) together while holding hands in a warm, safe environment.

  6. Hmmm. My cause would probably either be helping homeless babies, or puppies. Those were two things I was very passionate about at my last job. I wrote investigative reports about them.

    It makes me so sad when kids and dogs don’t have homes and love.

  7. Can you imagine a recovering attorneys clinic? What a sad sight that would be. It’s easy to be sympathetic to babies and puppies, but what about the poor (okay, not literally), sad, soul-less recovering attorneys?? How do I sign up, Sarah? 🙂

    SF, I’d probably volunteer with Planned Parenthood, educating young frisky teenagers about various contraceptive options. Because, abstinence? It ain’t working, people.

  8. It’s incredibly cool to read about what everyone would do (or in some cases, what you are already doing). My readers rock! There are so many amazing causes out there.

    The recovering attorneys group is awesome. It makes me think of all the chick lit books (like In Her Shoes, Undomestic Goddess, etc) where the protagonist is an unhappy, stressed, solitary, workaholic attorney, and then she leaves her job to become a dog walker / maid / what have you and inevitably ends up gloriously happy, tan, fulfilled and meeting the love of her life. Hmmm, food for thought…..

Leave a Reply

